Residency Program

A Message from Our Education Division

We are the proud home of a legacy of leaders in Anesthesiology, including the founder of our Department, Dr. Virginia Apgar, who devoted her career to neonatal resuscitation in the creation of the internationally renowned Apgar score.  Dr. Apgar was the first appointed female Professor at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.  In her spirit, we are shaping the future of our field and redefining modern medicine with innovations in clinical and basic science research.  As a resident at Columbia, we will cultivate your talents and challenge you to become a compassionate physician, skilled clinician, and creative leader in the field of Anesthesiology.  We offer outstanding and unique training.  Our Regional and Obstetrics divisions are pioneering education simulation research and you will be part of this effort.  Our Pediatric division led the Pediatric Anesthesia Neurodevelopmental Assessment (PANDA) study that examined the effect of general anesthesia on healthy children’s cognitive development.  Our surgical and cardiothoracic intensive care units are closed and directed by our Department.  Our hospital is one of the leading in the nation in the field of interventional cardiology and cardiac surgery, and you will join this group in an interdepartmental collaboration during the perioperative period.  Our Pain team offers a broad exposure to multidisciplinary interventions, with behavioral therapy and other holistic modalities such as nutritional care and acupuncture.  We believe wellness and balance is part of creating the best version of yourself, and this principle is integrated throughout the residency.  We look forward to meeting you and training the next generation of leaders in Anesthesiology   

  • Teresa A. Mulaikal, MD

    Residency Program Director

  • Julia Sobol, MD

    Associate Residency Program Director

  • Brian Egan, MD

    Associate Residency Program Director

  • Teeda Pinyavat, MD

    Assistant Residency Program; Director PGY-1 Year