​Critical Care Medicine


The Division of Critical Care is composed of multidisciplinary intensivists who are passionate about providing excellent cutting-edge evidence-based care to the most vulnerable of surgical patients. Several of our faculty have additional board certification in surgery, pulmonology, cardiac anesthesiology, and neurocritical care and are internationally recognized leaders in liver anesthesia, education, respiratory therapy, ultrasonography, global health, and translational research.


Alongside our nurses, pharmacists, social workers, nutritionists, physical therapists, respiratory therapists, and consultants, our team works hard to take care of patients in three intensive care units (SICU and two CTICUs). Our group has the unique set of skills to manage nearly 3,000 patients each year after cardiac, lung, liver, and pancreas transplantation, insertion of mechanical circulatory devices (ECMO, VAD) and pulmonary thromboendarterectomy, and general and vascular surgery patients with complex disease process ranging from sepsis to acute respiratory-distress syndrome.


We have a mission to educate the next generation of anesthesiologists and intensivists. In the spirit of Columbia’s history of innovation, we believe that our education should be intensive, inspiring, interactive, and innovative. Our teaching experience embraces all aspects of critical care, including placement and management of invasive hemodynamic monitors, invasive and noninvasive ultrasound, ventilator management, renal replacement therapy, use of drug infusion techniques, nutritional support, infectious disease control, and medical ethics. We educate both anesthesiology and surgery trainees and encourage them to respect the value of interdisciplinary care teams. Each year the Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship welcomes nine fellows from around the country to our ACGME-accredited program situated on 20 acres in Northern Manhattan.

We value education and the educational development of our faculty. Seven of our faculty members have been voted Teacher of the Year by our residents, and two faculty members have been elected to the prestigious Columbia University Apgar Academy of Medical Educators.


Our division has been honored for embracing a sense of discovery with funding in:

  • Palliative care
  • Functional lung imaging in emphysema and perioperative lung injury
  • Ion channel alterations in smoke exposure
  • Medication errors
  • Education in crisis resource management
  • Ultrasound simulation

We value discovery and want to share it with the broader medical community.


Tricia Brentjens, MD
Chief, Division of Liver Transplant Anesthesia; Director of PACU

Katherine Fischkoff, MD

Holden Groves, MD

Monica Goldklang, MD

Lisa Hasenbalg
Critical Care Medicine, Program Coordinator

Jonathan Hastie, MD
Associate Director of the CTICU

Beth Hochman, MD
Surgery; Associate Director of the SICU

May Hua, MD

Desmond Jordan, MD

Subhash Krishnamoorthy, MD

Elvedin Lukovic, MD PhD

Lydia Miller, MD

Steven Miller, MD
Director of Respiratory Therapy

Aaron Mittel, MD

Vivek Moitra, MD
Chief, Division of Critical Care Medicine; Program Director, Critical Care Medicine Fellowship

Teresa Mulaikal, MD
Director, Anesthesiology Residency

Oliver Panzer, MD
Director of Perioperative Ultrasound; Associate Director, PACU

Jonathan Paul, DO

Amanda Powers, MD

Joseph Rumley, MD

Cortessa Russell, MD
Director, Medical Student Clearkship   

Peter Salgo, MD

Julia Sobol, MD
Director, Global Health Fellowship; Associate Director, Anesthesiology Residency 

Lauren Sutherland, MD

David Wang, MD

Gebhard Wagener, MD
Chief, Division of Vascular Anesthesia



A list of our Alumni can be found here.